The Trials

Right now I’m experiencing an extra-high volume of Bullshit involving This Old House. On the list currently:

  • The second furnace (my house has two complete central HVAC systems — more to break!) that controls heat for my roommates during our Texas winter currently Doesn’t Go. I spent several hours poking around today trying to figure out why, but so far no bueno.
  • The back porch door has no glass, because I shattered it trying to replace the completely non-standard doorknob mechanism that’s broken several times before.
  • The kitchen sink has a slow leak, luckily above the countertop level, that probably has to do with our incredibly hard (as in PH of 9.8) water. I just replaced the valve a few months ago with a brand new one.
  • So does the shower.
  • One of the burners on the stove won’t ignite by itself, despite a very exciting but short-lived one-day fix earlier this week. Actually removing it to replace the probably cheap igniter unit involved removing 15 screws that are all so rusted they will certain break when I try to take them out, after which I will have to re-drill all 16 holes and find new screws to hold shit down.

This is in addition the ten or fifteen other random project we always have going on around the house.

I go back and forth on whether to keep the house. The Permaculture part of me wants to draw a line in the sand, claim permanent custodianship of it, and continue transforming it into an urban farmstead and food forest. The gypsy minimalist in me, though, wants to sell the fucker, cash out the equity, buy an RV, and hit the road.

I’m tired. I’m tired of doing all the maintenance on a 2400 sq. ft. house myself, and I can’t afford to pay anyone else to do it right now. I’m tired of dealing with roommate drama. I’m tired of constantly being distracted from getting my business off the ground by Disasters at home that demand my immediate attention. I’m tired of watching money disappear into my mortgage, my insurance, and my taxes. I know how much further my career would be along by now if I didn’t have the house weighing me down.

At this moment, the gypsy is definitely winning. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Trials

  1. tellit2me says:

    I’m taking all of this into consideration as I work towards building a homestead for myself. I know what you mean about the gypsy minimalist inside!

  2. Scott Mauer says:

    You’re well on your way. I’m looking forward to see what you come up with. I’d actually like to drive the Metro to Portland this summer with a yurt-like structure to bring along, which would be my first real long-term gypsy camping experience.

Leave a Reply

