Trip Report #4: Boulder

I rolled into Boulder around 4:30 PM, expecting to meet Tree, my erstwhile Playa Girlfriend from Burning Man that I haven’t since 2007. There had been a certain amount of confusion around scheduling the visit, since she was busy on Friday but free Saturday.

It wasn’t until I finally had her on the phone coming into Boulder that I realized it was still Friday.

I had been thinking it was Saturday since I got up Friday morning. 🙂

I hung out Yuppie Boulder for a while, finally deciding to eat at the fabulous World Cafe, where I happily blew almost $30 on tapas, local chai, and the tip. Service, atmosphere, and food was excellent.

Luckily I was able to swing a visit by horning in on an Important Poly Discussion date with her talented boyfriend. We hung out for hours longer than I intended, and I have no regrets. It was great to see her again after so many years, and tentative plans were made for a longer visit on the way home.

Barely conscious, I staggered back to the car, took a short power nap, snarfed two small energy drinks, and rolled out for Wyoming. I discovered that my shitty Krazy Blue flashlight App on my iPhone actually makes a fabulous SAD light in the near total darkness of night driving. I immediately felt more awake after turning it up, and my visual focus seemed to improve, too. I have my real SAD light somewhere in my gear, but in a dark car cabin it would be like The Second Coming of Christ, thereby previewing the heaven to which it would quickly lead.

I made it about another 90 miles to Laramie, Wyoming, and I’m about to wrastle the Metro into Sleeper Configuration, which is a lot like trying to transform a full-scale Bumblebee by hand when barely awake.

Wish me luck, but please do so *quietly*.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip Report #4: Boulder

  1. “…But in a dark car cabin it would be like The Second Coming of Christ, thereby previewing the heaven to which it would quickly lead.”

    This was the funniest line I’d read all week. You are SO awesome. :}

Leave a Reply

