Jailbreaking Process I’m Really Grateful for Fucking Sucks

I love the fact that hard-working people volunteer their time, energy, and expertise to allow me to jailbreak my iPhone.  While it’s usually be somewhat of a production,  is the kind of production that installing Linux on a Cyrix 486 from 23 floppies in college has prepared me for.  This time, though, it was an *unusually* hard pain in the ass.

I wanted to upgrade from 5.0.1 to 5.1.1 so I could get the new, not-part-of-the-OS Google Maps Apple’s Map Fiasco has so generously gifted us with.  I apologize to all those whos’ lives were impacted by that, but it was the only way to get Google Maps available in the App Store. 

I’ll buy you a beer next time I see you.  I promise.

It took me over six hours to take my already jailbroken 3gs from 5.0.1 to 5.1.1.  Over the course of those six hours, I installed at least 5 different versions of RedSn0w, starting with the latest and moving backward, before constant mid-jailbreak crashes motivated me to abandon the platform.  I finally managed to get it work with Abs1nthe, but it still required manual intervention beyond the directions. 

Now that I’ve wasted all this time and effort upgrading to 5.1.1, the 6.x untethered jailbreaks should be coming out any day.

That’s the real reason I did it.  🙂

There were two technical details that Redsn0w didn’t mention that Abs1nthe caught that might have made the process work better.

1) I had my iPhone backup encrypted

2) I had a combo lock set on the phone

This was true for all my interactions with Redsn0w.  Maybe if I had done that earlier it would have not crashed. 

Thanks for all your hard work jailbreakers!  We love you! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

