Paleo Cooking Update, Week 1

We made it through Week 1 of Gail’s Paleo trial. So far the main thing we’ve noticed is a decrease in carb cravings and some weight loss. I’m only down 2 lbs, which is pretty meaningless considered I got my intro weight on a cheat day. It’s also not surprising since I usually eat lower-carb anyway. Gail is down 9 lbs from last Thursday. The single most consistent thing I’ve seen across all my friends who’ve tried Paleo is a lot of weight loss as their body switches over into burning more fat instead of carbs. I lost 20 lbs during my first month, going from about 190 to 170 at 6’2″.

After finding that we were really dragging after almost every meal, I’ve reduced the portions and increased the carb count by adding a few chunks of fruit after most meals. Since that change we both have more energy. The first week or two of switching to a low-carb Paleo diet one generally feels pretty crappy as the body and gut fauna adapt to getting more calories from fat and fewer from sugars and starches.

Here are a few pictures of the storm I’ve been cooking up!

Seared Pork with braised broccoli, onion, and side salad with garlic fennel vinaigrette

Chopped salad with balsamic vinegar, olive and coconut oil.

Snack Time in Paleo Land!

Nut-butter, applesauce, and coconut flour Paleo pancakes drizzled with honey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

