Back Online

I’m back.

The site has been silent for some time. In early November I slipped a disk in my back, and was bed-ridden for two weeks. Immediately after I spend about three weeks longer than anticipated helping my mom recover from foot surgery in Dallas. She’s back on the road to recovery, and I’m finally back home in Austin.

During my extended leave, I wasn’t really in a position to focus or get much work done, so I played a lot of old video games. I completed by Starflight and Starflight 2, classic space exploration games from the late 80’s. Both games were very satisfying, and it brought back quite a few memories of camping in front of my 4.77 Mhz Tandy 1000A with its two 5 1/4″ floppy drives for days at a time, freebasing Brachs candy by the pound.

Ah, memories!

I also got the original Starflight working on my iPad Mini via DOSPad, and I bet the second would work the same way as well. It’s a little hard to fight well on the iPad due to the tiny DOSPad direction keys, but otherwise the game runs perfectly. I was quite proud of playing my 1987 game on my 2012 iPad!

As my next step in reducing my cost of living and moving toward a more sustainable life, I’m jumping headfirst into preparing my house to sell. I’m now over a month behind schedule, but I’ve already almost finished the physical repairs on the carport, and will be putting together my master plan and budget this week. Once I get that done I can get my roommates in on the game, and things should happen more quickly.

I have very mixed feeling about moving. I’ve lived here for 10 years, almost the longest I’ve lived anywhere. I do love the neighborhood and the location. But since 78704 has been taken over by condos, development is pushing south down to here. I was only able to survive in this big property since leaving the corporate scene by having roommates, and I’m tired of all the effort and drama required to be an on-site landlord when I’m trying to shift my entire way of life. Leaving will be bittersweet, but it will allow me to lower my cost of living substantially, give me a good deal of equity to complete my transition, and, most importantly, free up time and focus to get my new career as a an independent game developer and sustainability engineer off the ground.

It’s good to be home, and that’s a weird way to feel right now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

