Surgeries Present and Future

I helped my Dad go for surgery today. The procedure itself was successful, but, as with many body tinkerings with older people, there were several minor complications and he ended up in the ICU overnight. I think he’ll be ok, though the next few weeks will be hard on him since he can’t drive anywhere and I’ll be too busy with the home sale prep to spend as much time down there helping out as I’d like. I’m glad things went as well as they did, and once he’s recovered he should be able to sleep much more soundly than he has for years, which may or may not help with his memory loss. Previously he was waking up 6-7 times per night. Memories are converted from short to long-term during sleep, and the proteins that cause dementia are also cleared during sleep. Less sleep equals less clearing.

That plus my plans to not invest money in the stock market for my own retirement are definitely helping me focus on the importance of maintaining my own health. I actually have the best, though most expensive, health coverage I’ve had in years currently, but I realize the fallacy of thinking my body can be “fixed” if I continue to abuse it. Eating right (which I’m fairly good at), getting enough exercise (which I could definitely improve), lowering my stress levels, and having a loving family of blood and choice network are the things that, more than anything else, will help me live a long and healthy life. Although I’m certainly going to budget money after my suburban exodus for later in life, without compound interest, the amount will be much smaller, and the money I do have will be reduced in real value every year due to inflation. I’m going to have to make up the difference in better maintenance and long-term investment in my local network of people if I want to live long enough to destroy the dreams of young people with pithy aphorisms and trenchant observations.

And I’ll be damned if I’m going to let them get away without my input!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

