Laying the Foundations

Laying the foundation for the yurt platform!

Today I finished installing twelve of the sixteen foundation pavers for my yurt platform. The weather was amazing, and it was a pleasure to spend the day digging in the dirt! The site slopes down about a foot over the twelve foot run, so I split the difference between digging the back legs down and boosting the front legs up. As is my habit, I started with the hard part, digging all the holes starting from the back first. The remaining four only need a shallow hole for the roadbase, which I’m Bogarting from my parking spot, and a stack of probably 4 pavers each. I’ll knock those out quickly tomorrow morning, and the start assembling the frame in place! I’m very exicted to have made it this far after so many delays. I was supposed to move into the yurt in late September! In the meantime I’ve been playing Musical Trailers and sleeping in the van. I’m excited that my new Olypian Wave 6 heater arrives tomorrow, which will make heated nights in the van portable instead of requiring shore power. I suspect it will also work well with the yurt. There’s excellent weather ahead all week, so it won’t be long before the Magic Carpet for my Mongolian Mainstay is complete!

Laying the foundation for the yurt platform!

Laying the foundation for the yurt platform!

Laying the foundation for the yurt platform!

Laying the foundation for the yurt platform!

Laying the foundation for the yurt platform!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

