Taking Names in Triplicate

Figurating The Foorframe

Today was wild hedonism followed by shitloads of paperwork.

Paperwork is shit, but doing it well empowers our lives in important ways.

After christening the yurt with Abigail this morning (*WOOT!*), I claimed $150 in lost money from the state of Texas, who’s process was so easy I almost couldn’t believe it, paid for my new dental insurance gotten through Healthcare.gov, renewed my motorcycle insurance, printed out my Flipside ticket application after having gotten my money order yesterday, and got my $150 refund from Amazon for a mattress that FedEx somehow lost. I also removed the tiny tankless water heater from the bathroom in Lee’s trailer to add to the one I got out of storage so I can test both tomorrow.

I don’t intend to have a shower in the yurt right now, because there are a bunch of other places on the property here that have showers, and I will always have access to at least one. I’m going to have a composting toilet, so I don’t need blackwater drainage. What I *do* want is a kitchen sink with hot running water, and since I only need it in that *one* place, it turns out that a tiny electric under-the-sink water heater might be perfect. If either one of these works, I may be golden.

I spent several hours with the yurt doorframe figuring out how it needs to be to contain an actual door. I’d tried a few times with Sketchup and picturing things in my head, but it’s way too complicated for that. More on that soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

