Hacking My Bed for SXSW

Making the Scott Beds

Today there was a parting of the ways in the bed department.

After sleeping on the queen sized bed with this rope divider right in the middle for two nights, I decided that I could, in fact, live with a 30″ wide bed.

Making the Scott Beds

So I broke out the Sharpie and the Blade, and got started!

Making the Scott Beds

Making the Scott Beds

I’ll have to make new custom covers for each one now, but the webbing that holds the three foam layers together stretches enough to simply stitch them up!
Making the Scott Beds

Making the Scott Beds

Now I have one 30″x80″ bed for the yurt, and one for Junior, my Sprinter. They can be combined to make one queen bed for guests. This frees up a *huge* amount of room in the middle of the yurt compared to the full-size mattress! I’ll be making an expanding-bed storage box base for both, and right now this amazing accordion design is the best thing I’ve seen!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hacking My Bed for SXSW

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Awesome. Very resourceful of you! I am currently sleeping on a thick mattress pad that sits on top of a wooden platform. Best sleep ever! 🙂

    • Scott Mauer says:

      With the advances in memory foam, it’s *so* much easier to make your own bed now! My first night on the new mattress wasn’t super great, but it was less because of the size and more because most of my bedding was still drying on the clothesline! I also didn’t cover the roof hole, so it was a little cold. Tonight will be different, and I’m excited to find the best trundle design for expanding the bed to use both mattresses.

      • atkokosplace says:

        I don’t do cold too well! I hope your sleep got better. I like the idea of using a sustainable type mattress. It is difficult to find good quality for a decent price. I made my own bed frame and put the pad on top. It’s awesome. Fix that roof hole! 🙂

Leave a Reply

