The Fallacy of Certainty

I’m turning my van into a stealth camper and mobile office. Once it’s done, I can live and work anywhere super cheap!

The Good News: This $400 device that will let me use 120V appliances in my RV works!
The Bad News: I took the entire fucking thing apart thinking it was broken when it wasn’t.

How do I wire the van? I must measure each appliance, including the power lost converting 12V DC of my batteries to 120V AC. That’s where this beast comes in.

20170409_234827.jpg

Xantrex ProWatt 2000 Pure Sine Wave Inverter, Mistaken Idiot’s View

I accidentally touched the case (-12V) when screwing on the power cable (12V). *zzzZZZZAP!*

When I hit the power button, it would just beep fitfully like a sad R2D2. The display showed nothing. Without it, I can’t use my water heater, coffee maker or microwave, or order any cable to continue the project.

The manual said “qualified technician only.” I reached for the screwdriver.

Thirty screws later, nothing seemed broken. It still just beeped sadly. But then, in a fit of inspiration/serendipity, I *held in* the button for two or three seconds. *BEEP*! It came on!

I’m fairly certain I never tried that the first time. I *assumed* that because I had made the Big Spark and it wasn’t coming on, it was broken.

Oops.

Good thing I live cheaply in a yurt and have no mortgage or debt! These kind of delays are part of the process. If I have to fix the inverter later, I’ll know how to take it apart.

After a painful re-assembly that I had to restart several times, it’s back together and inverting happily!

Next I need to install my battery flow meter (Tri-Metric 2030RV) to measure how much power each appliance uses, then see what wires will be required to keep all the power flowing in a worst-case scenario. I’ll cover that next.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

