Bolting On Aires

Our mild spring means that it’s only in June is it routinely getting over 90 degrees. The yurt, while protected by trees, is hot and muggy at the steamiest part of the day.

I’m really focused on getting Junior, my Sprinter urban stealth conversion, ready for a six week trip to the West Coast, so I don’t want Yurt Tech to distract me too much. The better solution to Texas heat in the summer is definitely to *leave*. But I had to do *something*.

This is the first thing I tried:

20170605_155537.jpg

I had the same fan in the doorway pulling air in. This roof fan was pushing air *out*. In this picture, the transparent shower curtain is still above the hole, blocking much of the airflow.

This two-fan combo works pretty well into the low 90s at a fairly rare 10% humidity (it’s usually more humid this time of year in Austin). I’m mostly sweat-free in the yurt, frequently lounging shirtless in shorts. What would it be like, I wondered, if the fan were built into yurt instead of strapped on?

I decided to find out.

20170605_161702.jpg

20170605_174025.jpg

Here it is with my first trial install:

20170605_174043.jpg

…and running.

It’s definitely an improvement, and combined with a doorway fan, should allow me to put off using AC in the yurt for a bit longer.

I’m also planning on adding a layer of radiant barrier bubble wrap on the roof, which should help even more. However, if I want to be sweat-free or be able to keep pets inside the yurt at some point, I still have to use AC, because at a certain heat/humidity combination, airflow ceases to provide cooling, as addressed in this great Low Tech Magazine article on fan cooling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

