Co-Sleeping With Conversion Parts

With the order of my Vitrifrigo 12VDC fridge, I now have every major component I need to live in my van full time. The This week I will start sleeping inside.

Am I giving up the yurt? No. Going on the road? Not quite yet. Have I finished the conversion? I’ve barely started. But a fundamental principle of Permaculture design is Observation, and one thing I’ve learned from the yurt is that the best way to optimize a small space is to *live* in it *first* to get a feel for where things *should* go, then Tetris things around until, slowly and over time, they finally fall into the perfect place.

For instance, the sink counter in the yurt debuted at three different locations before finding a home. My fabulous cargo bed has been a big hit, but it cut off access to some of my shelving in a way I couldn’t have predicted, and now I need to rejigger that. What it all boils down to is that everything I install will probably be in the wrong place first, and that’s not only ok, it’s The Plan.

20170505_164112.jpg

Skeptical? You’re not alone. Dad doesn’t seem super-impressed either 🙂

More on the details of the fridge next!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Co-Sleeping With Conversion Parts

  1. Karen J Mauer says:

    How can you sleep in there? Maybe it will force you to find your first place to sleep in design one.

    Your Dad looks troubled.

    • Scott Mauer says:

      At the moment I can’t. There’s a mattress, but it’s on top of the solar panels, which belong on top of the van, not under my butt.

      If your son were working hard to make an old Sprinter van into a full time residence instead of looking for a job, you’d be troubled too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

