Thrift Store Score – Bose and Apple Edition

It’s been a great week for thrifting!

I found a 2nd generation Apple TV with remote for $5, a Bose rechargeable iPod Sound Dock for $7 including power supply, and a great straw cowboy hat for hot outdoor days for $2!

20170614_093343.jpg

The Bose Sound Dock in particular totally rocks. It’s very nearly as good as my much larger Altec Lansing sound system at less than 1/3 the size. The battery seems to be in excellent shape, it works very well for Yurt Theater. Finally, I’m able to use it to provide non-headphone audio inside Junior, my Sprinter van, who’s sound system is broken. I will likely find a way to mount it where my current useless sound system is in the van. I also still have my iPhone 4S, which has a compatible interface, that I could use as a glorified iPod instead of having to patch in my Android phone through the auxiliary input. However, the phone won’t charge there, so it might actually be worth finding an older iPod that actually charges on this dock.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrift Store Score – Bose and Apple Edition

  1. Alyssa says:

    Nice find! Where do you go thrifting?

    • Scott Mauer says:

      Thanks Alyssa! I shop most frequently at several local Goodwill stores, Texas Thrift on I35, Thrift Town in my old Cherrywood neighborhood, Top Drawer Thrift, and Treasure City Thrift on the East side

Leave a Reply

