Screaming Drills, Power Trips, and Nuclear Fusion

I created my first solar panel mounting rail! In about a week, my panels should be on the van generating power.

I used 1/4″ thick 3″x 3″ aluminum angle for the mounts, which turns out to be Wild Overkill. I read on Sprinter Source of someone doing something with 3/16″ angle, that would have been *more* than enough. The rails cost about $100 for four pieces at 45″.

Naturally I got the screw length wrong, so I’ll head to Home Depot today to exchange my 3/4″ stainless screws for 1.5″. I was only 50% off!

20170615_224358.jpg

I have four of these Renology 100 watt panels I got for over 40% off!
20170614_211328.jpg

Here you can see the 3″ angle bolted to the side of the two panels.

20170615_224405.jpg

The panels will be mounted in pairs, with one set in front of the main fan, and one set behind.

20170616_093257.jpg

I’ll post more thorough diagrams and descriptions later. These should be on the roof in less than a week, at which point I’ll know more about what additional wires I need to buy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

